Windows: share files and folders using advanced sharing


What sharing Advanced Windows

The sharing Advanced Windows allows you to select the users or group of users with whom we want to share folders and files on the network but also the appropriate level of authorization to be assigned, establishing what these users can or can not do with shared items. Advanced sharing can ensure a higher level of security than other methods of sharing Windows because it allows to require authentication of users who want to access the folder and files shared on the network. Also allows you to share any element of Windows including folders and files outside the personal folder, system folders or entire hard disk of the computer.

Warning: if you use the advanced sharing Windows verify that it is turned on password protected sharing

 

How to use the advanced sharing Windows

Let’s see an example how to use the advanced sharing of Windows to share a folder on a computer running Windows 8 / 8.1, Windows 7 and Windows Vista. irtual Desktop ManagerSuppose that we are present in our network two computers: PC White PC Black Suppose we want to share a folder called Personal sharing using advanced Windows. On the PC White is the user account: Andrea Andrea The user account password is: 0123456789 On PC White we click with the right mouse button on the folder Personal . We click on Properties . Let tab Sharing and we click on Advanced Sharing … In the Advanced Sharing select the check box for Share this folder . We select the Settings.

We click Apply and OK . In the Properties will displays the network path to the shared folder. In our example, \\ ComputerName \ Personal . We click Close .

Let’s see how to access the PC Nero folder staff we have just shared.
On PC Nero press on the computer keyboard keys Windows (is the key with the Windows logo) and E simultaneously.
In the left pane, do click Network .
In the box Central do double-click the computer you want to access (in our example, PC White ). Warning: the computer turned off, hibernate or suspension will not be displayed. If the password protected sharing is turned on it will open the window Windows Security . We type the name of the computer user who shared the folder Personal (in our example,Andrea ) and password (in our example, 0123456789 ). If you do not want to be prompted to type your user name and password each time you access to the shared folder select Remember my credentials . I click OK . We double-click on the folder Personal to view its contents.

 

How to stop sharing Advanced Windows

To stop sharing Advanced Windows we click with the right mouse button on the shared folder.
We click on Properties .
Let tab Sharing and we click on Advanced Sharing …
In the Advanced Sharing uncheck the check box for Share this folder .
We click up on OK and Close .

 

Advanced sharing settings of Windows

Let’s see how to change the settings of sharing Advanced Windows .

We click with the right mouse button on the shared folder.
We click on Properties .
Let tab Sharing and we click on Advanced Sharing …
In the Advanced Sharing select the check box Share folder .
In the settings we can change the following options:

Share Name: is the name by which the folder or any other shared item will appear on the network.
If the item is already shared, we can add another share name (for example, to set different permissions) by clicking onAdd .
limits the number of concurrent users to the maximum number of users who can simultaneously connect to the shared folder or item. Windows 8 / 8.1 and Windows 7 support up to 20 concurrent users while Windows Vista supports up to 10 concurrent users. To share a folder with a higher number of users at the same time we have to use a server version of Windows.
Comments: Comments entered in this field will be viewed by users on the network when you examine the properties dialog box of the shared in their network folder (or when they use the view details ).
Permissions: if we want to limit sharing to specific users or groups, or change permissions, we click on the Permissions

Note: the default permission associated to a new share provides access to Everyone, that is, for all users, with permission only reading.

 

Share Permissions Advanced Windows

 

Let’s see how to change the share permissions advanced Windows .
We click with the right mouse button on the shared folder.
We click on Properties .
Let tab Sharing and we click on Advanced Sharing …
I click Permissions .
In the Users and Groups select the name of the user or group that we want to manage.
In the Permissions for … appear the share permissions for the user or the selected group.
We select Allow , Deny , or neither for each entry for access control. Warning : if we do not select any of the two available items is possible that the user or group can inherit the permission through membership in another group that has that specific authorization. If the user or group does not belong to a group like that, implicitly the user or group is not granted authorization. After changing the share permissions advanced Windows we click on Apply and OK in each window box.

Users and groups
Under Users and Groups: lists the users and groups that have permission to access the shared folder.
The default permission associated with a new share provides access to Everyone , that is, for all users, with authorization single reading .
If we want to remove a user account or a group of users do click Remove …
If we want to add a user account or a group of users we click on Add …
This opens the Select Users or Groups .
In the box, enter the names of properties to choose: we type the name of the user or group of users, and we click onCheck Names .
To view all users, groups and entities security settings we click on Advanced … and Find .
I click OK .

Permissions for …
In the Permissions for … we can choose the level of access to allow users and groups.
Full control : you can view the contents of a folder or a file, edit existing files and folders, create new folders and new files , and run programs in the folder.
Edit : you can edit existing files and folders but can not create new ones.
Reading : You can view the contents of a folder and open files and folders.

 

How to turn on password protected sharing

 

When we use the advanced sharing of Windows, the computer where there are elements that we want to share that we test is enabled password protected sharing . Caution: This setting is required. Only users who have an account and password for the computer can access folders and shared files. Let’s see how to turn on password protected sharing on a computer running Windows 8 / 8.1, Windows 7 and Windows Vista:

 

Windows 8 / 8.1

: press on the computer keyboard keys Windows (is the key with the Windows logo) and Xsimultaneously.
We click on Control Panel .
In the search box of the control panel (top right) we type network . We click Network and Sharing Center . In the left pane we click on Change advanced sharing settings . Let All the networks and we click on the arrow to expand the section and view the contents. We select the check box Enable protected sharing password . Let’s click Save Changes . Windows 7 | Windows Vista : press the key on the computer keyboard Windows (is the key with the Windows logo). We click on Control Panel . In the search box of the control panel (in top right) we type network . We click Network and Sharing Center . Windows 7 : in the left pane we click on Change advanced sharing settings . We identify the network profile used, Home or Work or Public (the profile of the network used is indicated by voice current profile ). In the current profile select the check box for Enable password protected sharing . We click Save changes .Windows Vista : we click on the arrow next to Password protected sharing . We click Enable sharing password protected and we click on Apply .